Reflex Nutrition Vegan Protein

Although it is perfectly possible for vegans to get all the protein they need through a healthy balanced diet, it can be useful to use a supplement when trying to build muscle.

I really like Reflex Nutrition’s Vegan Protein powder. It comes in 3 flavours: Chocolate, Strawberry and Smooth Fruits. I’ve only tried chocolate as I’m not usually a fan of fruity protein shakes.

I chose this brand primarily as I was trying to avoid excess soy in my diet, as I worry about excessive phytoestrogens (plant hormones). I do eat soy, but I prefer my shake without. This one is make from pea protein.

They state “The vegan sourced protein in Vegan Protein is made from a patented manufacturing process. The unique and environmentally friendly process extracts pure European pea protein from Pisum Sativum using water and no chemicals. This provides what Reflex Nutrition believe to be the perfect instant mixing vegan protein powder that is highly digestible and directly comparable to the best animal sources of protein like whey, eggs and milk. This great tasting instant mixing product provides 74% protein that has 98% digestibility and a great amino acid score of 95%. Vegan protein is free from artificial colours and sweeteners and is made using earth-friendly Deep Green energy.”

‘Deep Green Energy’ sounds like a marketing ploy to me, but otherwise the powder is really good. It mixes well and has a nice taste and consistency, it does taste plant-like, but that’s to be expected, and I’m glad it doesn’t contain aspartame. It has the added bonus of digestive enzymes and it’s even probiotic.

Ingredients: Pea Protein (~93%), Cocoa Powder, Flavouring, Thickener (Carboxymethyl Cellulose, Sweetner (Steviol Glycosides), Enzyme Complex (DigeZyme ®) (Amylase, Protease, Cellulase, Lactase, Lipase), Bacillus Coagulans (LactoSpore®).

I buy mine from Amazon for £28.69 per 2.1kg, which is really good value. This rate is only offered to me as an Amazon Prime member though and usually it retails at £53.99, which is, a lot. I’ll keep buying this brand for as long as I can get the discount, but once the price goes up I’ll probably look for something else. I do think it’s worth the full price, as a 2.1kg tub contains a whopping 84 servings, but I just can’t afford that right now.

I follow the instructions and mix 2 scoops (25g) with 300 ml of water, and I add a metal shaker ball to my drinks bottle to use as a shaker. It states to drink 2 – 3 per day but I only drink one on workout days and I’m seeing results.

Leave a Reply

