Virginia Harvest Ground Linseeds (Flaxseeds)

On a vegan diet this stuff is really quite important. You can get Omega 3 ALA from other sources but I’m currently finding this to be the most cost effective option. I found this in Sainsburys at £2.50 for 200g, which is a lot cheaper than supplements, tho I am still considering a supplement too. It states to use 2 tbsp per day, but I only use one since I get some Omega 3 from other sources (walnuts, walnut oil and rapeseed oil to name a few). Since a tbsp is around 10g this bag lasts me around 20 days.

The linseeds are tasty added to porridge and mashed avocado. They can also be added to soups and smoothies too if you want. I prefer to add them after cooking, I’m not sure if the heat does make a difference to the oils, but I like to err on the side of caution.

I do add whole linseeds to salads and buy bread which contain them, however the body can’t really digest the whole seeds properly to extract the oils, which is why I buy a ground version too.

Leave a Reply

